food / recipe

First Post Of The New Year.

I hope everyone is having a good new year so far and hopefully you got to enjoy your holidays, whatever is it that you may celebrate. For me, it was Christmas and New Year’s.

Right now, I am making dinner, which will be donairs!

Donairs typically include meat cooked on a vertical rotisserie, usually lamb, veal/beef & sometimes chicken.

Tonight, I am cooking the meat (ground beef) in a baking pan as I do not own a rotisserie.

Usually the meat is shaved into thin strips and served in a flatbread such as pita.

Condiments may include: tomato, onion with sumac, pickled cucumber and chili.

I typically just use fresh chopped tomato & fresh chopped onions with:

Tzatziki, a yogurt based sauce.

OR

Halifax Sweet Sauce, which I am using.

Recipes here: https://www.cfa.harvard.edu/~gpetitpas/Links/Donair.html

In other parts of the world, Donair may be know as:

  • Doner Kebab (Turkey)
  • Gyros (Greece)
  • Shawarma (Arabic)

I just know it to be delicious!

Reference: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doner_kebab

Leave a Reply

