finance / life / living / money / save

Living a simple and frugal life.

piggy-bank-621068_1280

For those that know me, I live a very simple and frugal life.

I don’t own very many things now.

I’ve moved several times in my life and I’ve learned to “edit” my possessions.

When it comes to shopping, I usually just get the basics food & groceries wise.

On the odd occasion, I will splurge and get myself a treat, but I will try to find a coupon or deal for it first.

Clothes are bought on clearance/sale at “regular” stores or from thrift, “vintage” and consignment stores. I feel no shame in that.

The words clearance and sale are music to my ears. You never know what you will find!

I read a blog somewhere that you shouldn’t buy clothes on sale.

I disagree. If you need the item, it’s at an affordable price to you and you’re going to use it for a few years or more, buy it. The opportunity to get that clothing item may pass and never return. I’ve had that happen to me, a lot.

Just keep in mind that consignment & “vintage” stores can be a bit on the pricey side, as they may have brand name clothing, sometimes high end.

Also, I find that the clothes at consignment and “vintage” stores have been sorted with a bit more care than at regular thrift stores. With thrift stores, it may take longer to find what you want.

If you plan your clothes shopping carefully, you can find items that can last you for years!

These are just a few of the things that I have learned about saving money:

  • Hang clothes you haven’t worn for a while on a hanger backwards. If you still haven’t worn them in six months to a year, donate them to charity or sell them. If you have sewing skills, “upcycle” or redesign your clothing.
  • Swap clothes and other items with your friends and family.
  • Take care of the items you do own and you’d be surprised how long they can last.
  • Simplify your beauty routine. I’ve learned that a lot of cosmetics have toxic ingredients in them. I have started using more natural/organic beauty products and I don’t use a lot. One of my favourite products is Badger Balm. It’s a multi-purpose product. I save money by buying that instead of several different products. I also very seldom wear make-up any more and my skin has less problems. If you want to see a list of safe cosmetics, go here: http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/
  • If you are so inclined, make your own natural bath, beauty and cleaning products. Some recipes here: http://inhabitat.com/diy-homemade-bath-and-body-products-to-gift-or-make-for-yourself/
  • Buy only what you need. It’s OK to treat yourself once in awhile, but make sure it’s within your budget.
  • Find coupons and deals for the products that you use.
  • Buy what you need on sale. I buy the cheapest cuts of meat/chicken/fish and freeze them.
  • Compare flyer prices for different stores and keep in mind that many stores do price match.
  • Sales have cycles. One week for example, toilet paper will be on sale at one store, and the next week it will be on sale somewhere else. Pay attention to that and you will save money!
  • Sometimes on-line prices for items may be a better deal than in person.
  • There’s no shame in “re-gifting” as long as the item isn’t from the person you got it from.
  • Many companies send free samples in the mail from time to time. I have gotten free shampoo/conditioner, free laundry detergent, perfume samples and more. A good website to check for free samples in Canada is: http://www.canadianfreestuff.com/free-samples/
  • Some direct marketing places offer people a chance to host home parties and if a certain percentage of items are sold, the host receives free items.

More to come.

(I was not paid by Badger Balm, I just really love their product!)

Leave a Reply

